The Indian Express



The Indian Express is an English-language Indian daily newspaper. It was founded in 1933. The paper is published simultaneously from six cities: Chennai, Mumbai, Kolkata, Delhi, Bangalore, and Ahmedabad. In 1931, an agreement was reached to purchase the Indian Express building at 55/56 Anna Salai in Chennai for Rs 75,000. The printing equipment was moved on a truck that traveled overnight to reach the next day's publication office in the morning.

From 1 August 1938 onwards, the newspaper came out with two editions, one originating from Chennai, the other from Mumbai. The two editions merged in 1995. The Chennai edition is published from 21 centers in Tamil Nadu, Karnataka, and Andhra Pradesh.

In 2006, according to the Audit Bureau of Circulations, Indian Express was the second-largest circulated English newspaper in India, with a circulation of 267,581 copies. In April 2016, according to the Alliance for Audited Media (AAM), The Indian Express had an average daily circulation of 602,000 copies. In the 1960s, when its circulation was about 4,000, the Indian Express employed the best editorial and reporting talent available. Some of them went on to become famous: Minoo Masani, P. Sainath, B.G. Verghese, T.N. Ninan, and M.J. Akbar went on to become leading journalists and editors of their time; Gurbaksh Singh became a respected photojournalist; Kishore Biyani, who joined the Express as a clerk, went on to become one of India’s leading entrepreneurs. In its heyday, the Express had an impressive roster of columnists and contributors: Mulk Raj Anand, V.S. Naipaul, Dom Moraes, Romesh Thapar, Nirmal Verma, Khushwant Singh, and Shobha De were among them.